DECA High

DECA High was founded in 2003 as Ohio's first early college high school. Located on the prestigious University of Dayton campus, our program offers students from the city of Dayton a one-of-a kind opportunity to excel academically and succeed in their goal of graduating from college. In partnership with Sinclair Community College, DECA High students begin taking college courses as early as their sophomore year earning dual high school and college credit.

Our rigorous curriculum requires students to pass six sets of requirements or benchmarks called "gateways" which every student must complete before graduating from DECA. These are unique to our school and are required in addition to regular class work. 

The gateways help DECA students focus on writing skills, the steps to applying for college/financial aid, and being prepared for college life.  They include school expectations such as attendance and grade point average, as well as skill building activities that broaden the student’s knowledge of the world and specific skills needed for college like writing and public speaking.  The gateway process culminates in choosing, preparing for, and applying to college. The final gateway includes a capstone project where the student writes their autobiography and presents it to others as a way of knowing themselves and where they want to go in life.

 

Gateways

Calendar Highlights

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Nov 27
Mon, Nov 28
Staff Meeting
-
Tue, Nov 29
Wed, Nov 30
Leadership Team Meeting
-
BROTHERS Meeting
-
Diamonds Meeting
-
Thu, Dec 1
Fri, Dec 2
Picture Day- Retake
-
Sat, Dec 3
Sun, Dec 4
Mon, Dec 5
Staff meeting
-
Tue, Dec 6
Fri, Dec 9
NERD Night
-
Sat, Dec 10
Mon, Dec 12
Ms. Shuey at DECA
-
Tue, Dec 13
Wed, Dec 14
Leadership Team Meeting
-
BROTHERS Meeting
-
Diamonds Meeting
-
DECA & DECA PREP Board Meeting
-
Sat, Dec 17
Sun, Dec 18
Mon, Dec 19
Tue, Dec 20
Wed, Dec 21
Leadership Team Meeting
-
BROTHERS Meeting
-
Diamonds Meeting
-
Thu, Dec 22
Fri, Dec 23
Sat, Dec 24
Sun, Dec 25
Mon, Dec 26
Tue, Dec 27
Wed, Dec 28
Leadership Team Meeting
-
BROTHERS Meeting
-
Diamonds Meeting
-
Thu, Dec 29
Fri, Dec 30
Sat, Dec 31
Katy Jo Bull
School Director
kbull@daytonearlycollege.org
 
Cierra Shoecraft
Assistant Principal
cshoecraft@daytonearlycollege.org
 
Kellee Callahan
Assistant Principal
kcallahan@daytonearlycollege.org
 
 
1529 Brown Street
Dayton, OH  45469
 

P. 937.229.5780
F. 937.229.5786

School Hours: 8:45 am-3:35 pm
Breakfast Hours: 8:00-8:45 am